• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

having problems hooking up desktop monitor to my laptop...

iSign

I'm having problems hooking up desktop monitor to my widescreen laptop...

I just got a laptop for a recent trip, & I want to use it in my home office.
Currently I use an older tower & have a small HD TV hooked up as the monitor, along with a standard keyboard and mouse.

The laptop is a decent machine & will be everything the desktop was and more (not to mention portability) so, if I can sit in front of the same keyboard mouse and monitor, it's an improved situation that also lightens the load on my desk.

Here's all I know so far... I've never done this before, but I started by just trying my luck plugging in the USB keyboard and mouse, along with the monitor.

It started out good, because the keyboard & mouse were recognized & working immediately, as expected. The monitor started showing the startup screen for Windows Vista, so I was thinking i was getting off easy, with no troubleshooting to be done... then the circular windows Vista logo display came up as usual on the widescreen laptop, but on the 3:4 ratio external monitor it showed up distorted. I figured that would be easy to remedy, and it still might be... but then another problem surfaced a few minutes later.

There was some dual monitor wizard or something that popped up on it's own & seemed to be ready to give me independant controls for display settings on the 2 monitors, but not only did this box confuse me before I could find the proper settings... then, the external display went blank.