• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Help with a wrap...

Tony Rome

I am pretty new to wrapping, maybe have a dozen or so under my belt.
My wraps have gone well in the past and with every one I was getting better and more comfortable.
Here is the problem, the last one I did had me extremely frustrated.
I was wrapping a van (4 vertical panels) and I had the toughest time lining up the panels. They would be lined up perfect and before you know it I get towards the bottom and it was off.
I am not sure if I was pulling the roll as I was going down or what the hell was happening, but after a while it started feeling like I was doing my first wrap!

A few questions....
Do you print vertical registration lines to line up the panels?
Did you ever have everything lined up perfect only to go off when you get towards the bottom, if so what causes that?

Big question, I think some of my problem is I switched to Oracal 3951RA and it seemed tough to reposition, anyone use this...like it or hate it?

I was looking for a 3M replacement something with a little less $ but not totally cheap...any recommendations?
Anyone use Arlon or Mactec?

What about seems how wide, how can I make them less noticeable?

Thanks for any answers, this was a bad week!
Final product looked great but it took way too long too get there.
Thanks!

mnapuran

I have used 3951RA for most of our wraps... I'm used to it.

As for your problem... yes, I'm sure you are stretching the material. Start in the center and work out from there, and keep an eye on where you are so you don't have the same problems you are having now.

Also, if you want something a bit more cost effective and a bit easier to work with... try the new Oracal 3751RA

4R Graphics