• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Help with outsourcing cutting

bwsaw

Hey guys, I'm new to the industry and was hoping for some help in outsourcing vinyl cutting. I assumed the first step would be to get the supplier to dropship my roll of vinyl to a local sign shop. However, the problem is that each customer I have will need different dimensions of vinyl. Would it be possible for the sign shop to keep my roll of vinyl there, and then cut the dimensions I need whenever I get an order? Would I have better luck trying this with something like sign365 rather than a local shop? Any other ideas of how I can do this, and any ballpark of what I would pay?

Side note, what does outsourcing laminating typically cost?

EDIT: I need custom dimensions in both length and width. Is it harder to find someone who can do both, as opposed to just lopping off one end?

Thanks guys

Last edited:

Turnergraphics

Hey guys, I'm new to the industry and was hoping for some help in outsourcing vinyl cutting. I assumed the first step would be to get the supplier to dropship my roll of vinyl to a local sign shop. However, the problem is that each customer I have will need different dimensions of vinyl.

Since nobody responded I'll try and help you by suggesting you make the plunge and spend about $1500 on a vinyl cutter. Mine is the Graphtec ce5000. Learning to handle your own vinyl cutting will pay for itself in little time.

Turnergraphics

Since nobody responded I'll try and help you by suggesting you make the plunge and spend about $1500 on a vinyl cutter. Mine is the Graphtec ce5000. Learning to handle your own vinyl cutting will pay for itself in little time.

With that said, check out www.stahls.com. They cut custom orders.

bwsaw