• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Laminate suppose to be 100% clear?

dtdm

Okay I am new to laminating... I am using 3651g and 215g.
I am laminating using a big squeege. Smaller sections, 2'x2'.
There seems to be a visible adhesive between the laminate and the vinyl?
Not so much of a bubble but it looks like the adhesive itself... it's only noticeable up close, hasn't been in the sun.

Letting prints de gas for atleast 24+ hours before laminating. I have tried to take photos of this, however it doesn't show up in one...

Is this normal with laminating?

rjssigns

Had issues when lam'ing with a BS. Then I started using a piece of glass for my table. Un-frickin'-believable difference! Looks just as smooth as running it through our RS 1650.

A sheet of tempered glass is dead flat compared to a table with a cutting mat. The cutting mat is textured too which doesn't help.

rjssigns

1/4" thick. Tempered glass is horridly expensive though. Maybe check your local ReStore outlet or home salvage for a huge mirror. It is gonna be supported on a table anyway so tempering will not be necessary.

dtdm

thanks for all the input guys, i will try laminating on a glass top (coffee table LOL) until I build myself a new work table, appreciate all the insight!:corndog:

Patentagosse