• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Laminator leaving Zig-Zag pattern

jpsamuel06

I'm somewhat new to the sign industry. I've been working at my current job for a little over a year and boy have I learned a lot!

Our laminator is a 54" cold. The last roll we sent through had these zig-zag lines, about 1/4" thick. Those spots were also a little more faded then the rest that laid down great. Is this possibly a bad roll of laminate, or maybe a pressure issue?

About 6 months ago we upgraded all our equipment and went from 30" to 54", and it took a good couple of weeks before we got used to the larger vinyl and got the pressure tuned in. Now, we don't touch the pressure knobs when changing rolls.

I don't know the lam. brand atm, so if that info is needed, I can get it. I thought maybe someone had this issue in the past...

Thanks Signs101

petesign

Bet it's a daige since they've talked about pressure being tuned in....

congratulations, if you have left those rollers sitting pressed on each other, you've got flat spots now. Always release pressure on laminate rollers after using the machine.

jpsamuel06

Please bare with me, I'm still a "newbie" :thumb:

Yes, it is a Daige. When we set the pressure, we brought the rollers down to where their just barely touching, then turned them a quarter turn tighter. I wasn't asked to find a solution, I just did it since I'm not happy with how things have been turning out lately.

So your saying that everytime your done laminating, you have to loosen the rollers so there isn't pressure on them 24/7? That seems very likely, but the 30" we used before never had this issue, and we ran it the same way, always leaving the rollers tight.

Here's some pictures as requested.

Attachments

• 1.jpg
    1.jpg