• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Question Laser Machine Newbie

MiguelGonzalez

Hello guys, so I plan on adding a laser machine to the shop, I want to use it for engraving intricate designs and large signs. Trotec, Epilog and Universal laser(chinese) are the machines that are readily available in my area. As i have no experience with laser I hace some questions, if would could help me.
1. How do different watt machines affect the final product?
2. Can a larger machine produce intricate designs and small fonts like a smaller machine (Or does the size doesn't matter)?
3. Can one machine be both fiber and CO2 or do I need a separate machine?
4. Your thoughts on Chinese Machines? I've read positive reviews for its price specifically Universal Laser.

fixtureman

If you are doing engraving then the Trotec would be the one to go with. It may be the most expensive but the speed will pay for itself in a long run.

johnnysigns

I don't do much engraving, but we do a lot of logos/letters that are adhesive backed. We went with a Thunder laser. I'd run a boss laser for approximately 5yrs a colleague of mine owned and they're honestly pretty simple to operate.
1. Wattage is going to dictate how fast your feed rates are for cutting primarily. If you're just engraving you don't need to max out the laser wattage available for that machine, but if you're intending to cut/engrave I'd get the most powerful wattage you can afford.
2. Larger or small shouldn't matter in terms of the intricacy. Servo motors Vs stepper motors should engrave faster and give better edge quality on curved paths. There's a difference I can see in the logos we've cut on the boss laser (stepper motors) Vs our Thunder with servo motors.
3. Honestly not sure.