• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Latex Printing on actual cloth type artist's canvas (??)

John_Smith

Enjoying retirement in Central Florida
I want to explore a new way of painting.
First of all, is it possible or even common in Digital Print Shops to use actual artist's cloth canvas vs "textured vinyl" for 36x36 size projects?
My "ambition" to explore is to have a photo printed on a pre-primed artist's canvas in maybe 50% opacity latex or similar water-based inks.
Then, I will stretch it to my own custom-size frames and hand-paint over the graphics with acrylics. Using the printed graphics as a "pattern" to have a hand-painted mural project at the end. This will be from scenic photos that I have taken myself over the years.
Disclaimer: I am NOT an artist, painter, printer, or even half-way skilled or talented in the free-hand painting art world. I've used opaque projectors in the past with less (much less) than desirable results.
Anyone ever try this ?? Pros & Cons ??
John

John_Smith

I checked with my two local shops and they only use some kind of "canvas textured vinyl" and to me, it was the same as the vinyl banners I used to put vinyl graphics on. Also, both said they do not print customer-supplied materials in their machines. (that was my only interaction with them).
There's plenty of printable canvas available.
is a fairly generic reply. Like me saying there is plenty of wood at the Home Depot. Thanks.

DL Signs

Never go against the family