• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Newbie to printing question...

Hey everyone, I am a newbie to printing but not a newbie to signmaking.
I decided to buy a Mutoh Falcon Outdoor 62" used to try and break myself into the digital printing part of the biz. It should be here in a day or two and I am excited about getting it.
However, I have a question. Can it run on just CMYK or does it need to run on all 6 colors? I am asking this question because I know that at first I will go through a bunch of ink just playing around with the printer and getting it set up and ready to go so I figure why waste ink if I don't need to.
Anyway, this is the first of probably a whole bunch of questions I will most likely have with this printer...
Thanks for your help!

DRPSignsNGrafix

U need to run all 6 inks or you will dry up the lines and take out the pump. Lc and Lm are the colors that you use the least of. So don't worry about wasting ink.

Welcome from NY

Compilla

Hey everyone, I am a newbie to printing but not a newbie to signmaking.
I decided to buy a Mutoh Falcon Outdoor 62" used to try and break myself into the digital printing part of the biz. It should be here in a day or two and I am excited about getting it.
However, I have a question. Can it run on just CMYK or does it need to run on all 6 colors? I am asking this question because I know that at first I will go through a bunch of ink just playing around with the printer and getting it set up and ready to go so I figure why waste ink if I don't need to.
Anyway, this is the first of probably a whole bunch of questions I will most likely have with this printer...
Thanks for your help!

Hey Welcome to the Mutoh fan club!

OK printer, needs a lot of baby sitting ...