• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Newbie with a few business questions

jpm2112

Hello Everyone,

I'm new to the large format business. But, have been in the offset printing field for many years. I would like to get some insight and help with purchasing some equipment.

I'm not looking for "the best". I'm look for information on considerations to take into account when purchasing the following pieces; a large format printer, laminator and cutter.

There's a trade show coming to town this month and I would like to be prepared with the right questions …

Here are the considerations that I have so far:
Printer;
Speed
Off gas time
Print head replacement
consumable costs
120v or 220v
Eco-Freidnly inks

I just realized, I've only been researching printers! lol What are some consideration to take with laminators and cutter?

Please ensues the long winded questions …

Cheers,

JP

FireSprint.com

Trade Only Screen & Digital Sign Printing
A few things we learned as we moved into wide format:

Although beach scenes and beautiful people are nice to see printing, they can hide alot of imperfections. Have them run huge sold swatches of light gray, blues and red.

Have them print large swatches of solid primary colors with some fine text in the mode you expect to run in. Sometimes reds look pink and greens look teal.

Whatever you think your ink costs will be double or triple that.

Assume at least 20% material waste your first year. This is not drop (the extra 6 inches left over because the print is only 48 inches wide) this is waste. You will crumple up and throw away alot of stuff.