• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Newbie with print/plotter question?

rxpress

I have been cutting and laying out vinyl now for about 3 years on the side. Currently I am trying to make my business grow and still learning as I go. What I would like to do is print banners, decals and do wraps. So here is my question.
I have a vinyl express 24" cutter with lxi software, adobe photoshop and illustrator. I also have a small budget.

Is there a decent priced printer that I can get and how hard would it be to line it up in my cutter after printing? I am not familar with reloading and sending through to a cutter.
I was looking at a good deal on a roland hi-fi jet fj-50. Could I use this with my software and would it work for wraps?
Also how about a pc-60 or 600?
I would love to get a versacamm but can not afford at this time.

Sorry for so many questions but need to ask.
Thanks
Jay

eforer

I would read through this thread as it answers alot of your questions: http://signs101.com/forums/showthread.php?t=17393

Also, using separate machines for printing and cutting IMO always makes more sense. Its not at all hard if you have a good quality plotter (ie Graphtec or Mimaki) to do contour cuts if the plotter has a registration mark sensor. Truthfully, the all in ones like the versacamms aren't really as good at either job as a good standalone machine. Furthermore, you have to reload the machine anyways if your going to laminate. Honestly, even with harsh, agressive inks etc. I still laminate everything but banners. You can bet your going to want laminate anything coming out of an eco-sol machine, so combining them makes little sense. Finally, you can run two jobs at once if you print and cut on separate equipment.

rxpress

Thanks eforer,