• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Opinions of the Roland HiFi Jet and/or Mutoh Falcon?

SignPros

I used the Search and found a couple of threads from 2007 about the HiFi Jet, but nothing more recent than that, so I thought it best to post up.

I've been in business for myself for only about 6 months, but worked in another shop for about three years. In that shop, we had a JV3 and then a GS6000, so I have some experience with both of those. Both are out of my price range at this point though.

I've been subbing out my printing for banners and wraps and such, but the lead time is becoming an issue (usually at least 4 days), so I've got to look at buying something myself. I keep a regular eye on eBay and Craigslist for solvent or eco-sol printers, and have noticed that the HiFi Jets and Mutoh Falcons seems to go what I would call 'cheap' (in the $2,500-3,000 range). In fact, a 54" HiFi recently went through eBay with pre and post heaters and converted to eco-sol for something around $2700, IIRC. I know that neither of these prints lightning fast, but that's not much of an issue for me at this point. I'm looking for something to get me going for the next year or so until I can build some cash to buy something like a JV3 or higher-end Roland. I plan on using a Big Squeegee for laminating and have a line on a Summa S120 for cutting decals when I need. The big push came recently when I landed a full wrap job on a large medical van coming in the next few weeks. If I print it myself instead of jobbing it out, I'll save almost $1,500 on the materials (calculated with 3M ControlTac and laminate and rough ink cost). So this one job would pay for a large part of a printer. I have a friend that helps me that's well qualified to help with the install.