• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Outboard motor cowling help

Miliani

Hello, I am new to wrapping and I would like to wrap my outboard motor cowling. The back part of the cowling has deep indentations as shown in the attached picture and I am wondering that best way to wrap those holes. Can I go over top of them and then cut the middle section out or cut a slit and then push the vinyl in to cover the indentations and then trim the rest after it is adhered? Or is there another technique that would work better? I would also appreciate suggestions on which brand of vinyl would work best for this application.

s-l400.jpg

Miliani

Well I thought I'd start small but I understand this is not the easiest shape to wrap. I guess worst case is that I tear it off and try again!

defarge

You will have to do inlays (separate pieces) in all the indentations. Also, if the plastic has any texture to it at all, regular wrap vinyl won't stick long term, it will peel up on the edges and corners, if not just fall off the whole thing. If it's smooth, I would use 3M 2080 rather than Avery, because the 3M is a little bit stickier. This is probably the second-worst first wrap project, behind trying to one-piece a motorcycle helmet. Definitely not Vivvid, Teckwrap, or any of the cheesy chinese calendared films.

somcalmetim

Some 3M adhesion promoter would help but I doubt there is any way to wrap that completely...those hard inside corners will peel back up...
You could pre wrap the indents with smaller section of vinyl with as few seams as possible and then wrap the entire outside in one and trim away the indent holes to leave the prewrapped hole sections visible....