• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Paint or flood with vinyl?

Salmoneye

I was getting ready to do a 4'x 8' sign on Alu polymetal. I was going to order a gloss red sheet and decorate with cut vinyl. Now the customer wants a 5' x 10' double sided and I can't order the sheet pre-painted. The customer doesn't want wood. Should I order a 5' x 10' of poly-metal and paint it with a cup gun or should I flood the sheet with (2) 30" pieces of red 751? I am not very experienced with a cup gun but am not really afraid of it either. I do not however have an indoor space to shoot the panel so I would have to do it outside and might get some contaminates before it dried. If I flood that large of an area with vinyl will it hold up long term with the expansion and contraction? If I do paint what is the recommended prep for poly-metal before application of an oil based top-coat?

Sorry for the long post but any info is appreciated.

dwt

I have absolutely no faith in 751 red in the southern sun but if that is what his budget constrains him to so be it.

As for painting, if you don't have a booth and don't want to gas out your neighbors roll it out with an eight inch foam roller. Just be sure to wipe it down good with thinner to degrease before you start(the substrait). Maybe a drop of fish eye remover in the paint for good measure.

Vinyl is obviously the faster solution so be sure to bill accordingly for the extra 2.5 hours plus the materials and aggravation, or use 951 and a liquid lam(clear coat).

Last edited:

petrosgraphics

vinyl is easier, just a good h/p vinyl will work... make sure you have a slight overlap where the vinyl comes together...1/4" should do.....