• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Replacing my vinyl cutter, recommendations?

Kat Gilland

I've been using a Roland Camm-1 for a few years and its time to replace it. I do a variety of applications but nothing too large so a 28 inch cut area is just fine for me.

At the moment I am looking at Laserpoint 3 arms and Vevor kw-870, they appear to be adequate for my needs. Anyone using these or have a suggestion for a better machine?

Boudica

I'm here for Educational Purposes
Summa S2 Class T (Tangential blade). We've had ours for a few years now (Cam 1 still sits in front of my desk, but we don't use it). I love the Summa

drvinyl

you have a camm-1 you already have the best plotter, they are work horses they will run til the end of time.

cornholio

Summa, if you want to ease your weeding for the next couple of years.
I don't understand people "saving" money on mediocre cutters and then spending their time and nerves on weeding for years and years...
I once had a case, when a customer sent a media back, that "didn't work anymore".
He was using a Mimaki CG130 FX...(not a bad cutter)
I tested the heat transfer medium on a Roland, Graphtec and a Summa S tangential. Guess what... I sent the cut non weeded samples to the customer.
The next day he wanted to know, how it was cut. The day after he stood in our showroom and the next day I installed a Summa at his place...
He told me, that he needed 20 minutes to weed for one logo cut with the Mimaki, compared to 2 minutes with the Summa...
Do I need to say more???

guillermo

I've been using a Roland Camm-1 for a few years and its time to replace it. I do a variety of applications but nothing too large so a 28 inch cut area is just fine for me.