• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Summa S class 2 plotters, the new ones

Haakon

My little Roland is getting ready for replacement, rather sooner than later, and I'm very curious about the new 2nd generation S class cutters. Only having used a D series Summe before, I have no experience with any S class cutter.

But Summa in general looks to be highly regarded when it comes to reliability and precision, not to forget good support. Also, I have a Summa dealer fairly nearby, only a few hours away.

I cut mainly just cal and cast lettering vinyl, a bit reflective and very seldom dusted/frosted vinyl. The main problem with the Roland is tracking over longer runs, anything over 4-5 feet (especially thin stripes) and I have no confidence in it. It has served me well over 2,5 years, but it's time to upgrade.

For my use, what are the important upgrades from a S1 to a S2, if any? Should I try to get a good deal on the outgoing models instead? Would a Tangential S1 suit me better than a Drag knife S2 for my specified use?

I know these are brand new machines, and probably only dealers have them, but any feedback would be greatly appreciated. Don't want to get the wrong machine when it's going to last for a long time.

laserman70

My little Roland is getting ready for replacement, rather sooner than later, and I'm very curious about the new 2nd generation S class cutters. Only having used a D series Summe before, I have no experience with any S class cutter.

But Summa in general looks to be highly regarded when it comes to reliability and precision, not to forget good support. Also, I have a Summa dealer fairly nearby, only a few hours away.