• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Thoughts on...Colorspan 72 UVR

ChiknNutz

Considering this one as posted by Merritt Graphics. However, I've no experience with these, but I like some of the things can be done with it...direct printing to rigid substrates AND rolled goods. However, are there other considerations about these that may not be readily apparent? I've heard that the UV is not as flexible as normal solvent-based inks...is that true? Regarding the printer itself, any particualr pitfalls or benefits? I'm trying to determine what markets I might be able to get into with this that I am missing out on. Do they require daily activity to maintain in good "health" or can it sit for a coupla days? What about overall maintenance? How much are the UV lights when replaced?

Anyway, just looking for any comments on it. Thanks.

thmooch

my last employer had the colorspan flatbed. It ran constantly 8hrs a day Mon-Fri, parked Sat & Sun. The only real thing was if printing a 4'x8' full bleed the operator would have to use a "trailer" at the end (6"-8" x width of same material). Hope this helps some.

ColesCreations

Don't get one to replace your Roland, but it will make a great addition...
From what I have researched, the current generation UV will not replace the solvent printer, but can do some things very well.
Check into the Zund UVjet 215 plus, can pick up a used one fairly reasonable, make sure its a plus, has 6 colors. Not the highest resolution, but solid machines, and you have the Roland for high-res stuff.

http://www.zund.com/media/broschuren/uvjet_215-plus_en_low.pdf

Last edited:

hydo1