• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Suggestions Vector based software vs using photoshop and vectorizing

deez

So im just starting out with cutting vinyl, right now its to create designs for the ol lady to heat press shirts for daughters sports but also getting into larger designs for decals and maybe sign work later on. Also doing sublimation printing...

I have a really simple question on which programs to use based on my previous experience.

I went to school for computer graphics 15 years ago, Ive since used photoshop regularly and very familiar with this program. Although I used Illustrator in school, I have not used it since so basically would have to relearn this software. Ive used alot of 3d software too but that wont apply here.
Now my question is this....
Im using vinylmaster cut which came with my uscutter sc2 and when trying to clean up some lines I found it difficult to figure out how to add and merge nodes of curves etc which made me wonder if I should instead of trying to work with curves and nodes in vinylmaster....to instead.... clean up images in photoshop first and then just import to vinylmaster and vectorize it. The vinylmaster program seems to vectorize images pretty good so should I just be using photoshop to edit/work on images and then just use vinylmaster to vectorize and cut?
Alternatively.... should I dig out illustrator and relearn it all over again?

I know everyone has their own software preferences but just dont want to waste a bunch of time on software Im going to end up abandoning.
Basically looking for suggestions on which software I should be focusing on from your opinions.
Thanks!

Fred Weiss

Merchant Member