• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Need Help Vision engraving newbie

Pistachio

Hi all I've been in the sign industry a little over 2 and a half years now and recently moved into the vinyl and engraving department. I'm a total newb and am having difficulty with our Vision 1640 engraver. I've been trying and failing for about 3 weeks to get a good consistent ada sign. I've seen about glue issues which I've been having, but I've kind of figured out, but overall from start to finish I'm just missing something. I've watched the videos from Vision a few times and am going to watch them again with a fine-toothed comb, but any tips tricks or suggestions would be greatly helpful. Thank you very much.

JBurton

Signtologist
Just for one, leaving a panel with adhesive layer assembled for more than 30 minutes is going to make the adhesive a lot harder to remove. Place the adhesive panel right before you are ready to cut.
Fresh bits go a long way. A dropped bit, or bit that got run into the machine, is no longer fresh.
Not sure how the vision does the depth, but on my new hermes, a piece of thin paper between the nose cone and the surface, touch the nose cone down, then back it off until the paper just barely slips. This is a fool proof perfect depth, as long as the tool length is set properly.

Pistachio

What part of the process are you having trouble with? If you can explain better I can help, we have a vision engraver and make a ton of ADA type signs.