• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Wrap removal for extra $?

GoodPeopleFlags

I'm thinking of doing some vehicle wrap removals on the side for extra money. I don't own the shop I work at; I get my hourly pay which covers my bills. I'm a single mama and looking for a way to make extra money. I've been in the biz for 20 years so I have lots of experience removing vinyl - just not wraps.

We don't do vehicle wraps (or remove them) at work so I don't feel like I'd be taking any work from the shop. I would tell my boss what I was doing. I would do the work at my house at night or on the weekends.

I've read some good tips here lately about using the steamer for removing. I would like to know if anyone knows of a contract for the customer to sign saying that I'm not responsible for any damage to the paint or any other things I need to say to cover my butt.

Any other suggestions or warnings are appreciated!

Circleville Signs

Biggest thing is what you just said. Create a waiver stating that you will be held harmless for any damage to the vehicle (paint/body) that may occur during the removal process. Also, that the customer acknowledges that you are not the installer, and are not responsible for damage caused due to faulty installation techniques. You need to have a place on the form where they indicate (and initial) the date the wrap was originally installed, and who the installation company was.

I'm sure there might be some other stuff, but those are the big issues.

Hicalibersigns