• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

3M and Avery Dennison

ndwhite

I'm new to the vehicle wrap industry and am currently researching the different materials used in a wrap. I came across this article: http://www.austingraphics.com/badwrap.html

The author of the article claims that 3M and Avery Dennison are the top two vinyl manufacturers on the market. Reading this forum I've come to the understanding that it is common knowledge that "no wrap fits all situations".

That being said, in your own opinion; is there anything to be said in agreement or disagreement with the author? Are 3M and Avery Dennison wraps generally better than an Oracal wrap? Is one wrap generally better in one scenario over another? Do you feel the author is just talking up 3M because it's the materials they use? I'm assuming the wraps and graphics were produced following the manufacturer guidelines.

Thank you.

MikePro

welcome to the forum! so glad you chose us to debunk/validify this random internet article.

a: the wrap was not laminated. no matter which product you use will end up scratching, and fading MUCH faster, over time.

b: 3M>Oracal>Avery. imho.

c: shopping prices rarely ends well when you're looking for a premium wrap. let the company's portfolio and reputation for service be your deciding factor. if you're on a limited budget, let the company know in advance and they'll provide you with half-wrap options.

the graphics co