• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

another stupid story

Geneva Olson

Expert Storyteller
I have a big box customer. I do the graphics for an individual location. I've been doing graphics for them for several years now. SUDDENLY, they want to put me in their "vendor" system. I asked if they are a "net 30". Up until now, we have done all of their business with the GM's credit card. It wasnt an issue because it was under $5000. This new sale is under $5000 but suddenly they want me to get in their system. I was told that they can do a "net 10" but want a 2% discount. (I'm sorry, WHAT?)

So, my questions:
1 - does anyone here do net 30
2 - how hard is it to get your money?
3 - wtf kind of bs is getting a discount on money that was owed to you 10 days prior. to me that's late and there should be interested ADDED not taken away.
4 - do you increase the price to offset the net 30?

Ryze Signs

Sadly net 30 is something we just have to deal with regularly on the back end. We always require a 50% deposit even on small jobs to soften the burden of waiting for the final payment. Oddly enough the most common clients to have net 30 are national sign companies. You'd think they would understand your our needs for cash flow, but for some reason they always act like it's a privilege to do work for them.

Government and credit unions have also been terrible to work with. They're never in a hurry and the beurocracy is painstakingly slow.

Scotchbrite

No comment
I've never had anyone ask us to do the net10 discount but it used to be pretty common practice with our suppliers to us. I think 1 or 2 may still do it.

White Haus

Not a Newbie