• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Anyone remember being an apprentice

jtinker

Owner
So i saw my first signshop boss downtown the other day and I got to remembering how much i hated working in his shop. Constantly he would ruin my designs and take credit for my work when customers came to proof. And was quite possibly the cheapest human being to have ever lived. The shop would go without basic materials for months because the suppliers went up my a couple pennies. I watched this man throw away a $98,000 contract because he called the guy coming to proof a stupid little kid prettymuch. The guy siad the blue he was using was too dark. Ill give you his exact words "This is the right blue! You dont know what you talking about. I've been doing this for 40 years, since before you was in your daddy balls" end quote. Which was a lie ofcourse, he ran out of the right blue and then used a darker one to save money. A can of 1shot is like 20 bucks man. I couldnt understand. I was his apprentice for 2 years.

Anyone else got any horror stories.

threeputt

S

Anyone else got any horror stories.

No horror stories, but I apprenticed in 1972. The guy running things was pretty good. Portland, Oregon.

Went on to work in some non-union shops, mostly. Struck out on my own in '75. Failed once, now a raging success.

I've been around a long, long time. Seen it all, small lettering on a jewelry store window downtown (with brushes of course), fifteen foot letters on walls ten stories up, rigging my own scaffolding, endless trucks doors with charcoal pounce patterns, (remember those?) etc.