• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

designing your own font for Windows

MikeD

Anyone doing this?
Is Font Forge the best font editor in general (besides being free?)
Anyone have any tips or short cuts?

Terremoto

If you want the best font creation tool then FontLab Studio is at the top of the pile. Bit of a learning curve but well worth it in my opinion.

Dan

TyrantDesigner

Art! Hot and fresh.
font forge is great for the price ... if you're just looking to do a couple custom fonts for your own system go with font forge

MikeD

Thanks for the advice!
At the moment, I only need to make one font so I think Font Forge, but there is a possibility of more in the future. Fontlab Studio is $650, maybe I can get the bossman to buy it. Obviously, I'm new to the software; can you tell me what makes it better than the rest, please?
Thanks again!

round man

not too sure about the latest greatest versions but coreldraw has a truetype import export filter that can be used to create custom fonts,...I recall having to do a custom install to load the import/export filter in order bto be able to create a font and there was quite a learning curve on setting up a page to draw the font on and then create the font,...but once you get started it isn't all that difficult,...I think it was version 7 they started this,...

MikeD

Thanks RoundMan!
I have a copy of corel somewhere around here. I will try that out first. That will make the process easier- no cygwin.
I appreciate the fact that you and the others took the time to help me.
Mike

Jackpine

Ditto.