• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Fonts - Why is it so Easy to Find Free Fonts?

caribmike

Retired with a Side Hustle
As I was downloading yet another family of fonts that I was looking for, I wondered why its so easy to find free fonts. I've been a graphic designer and print and sign shop owner for 20 years and have never found a problem finding almost any font I've ever needed. To be honest, I have over 10,000 now. Why are fonts so often free? Even the ones from big font foundries can be found on the net for free if you look hard enough. Does anyone know why?

BigNate

... have you verified that you actually have the right to reproduce, or to reproduce and sell, the fonts that you so freely download? this is actually an area where intellectual theft runs rampant. A lot of times the font is free to download and use personally, but as soon as you use it commercially you have violated the copyright protection for that font. (even packaging fonts with a file to send to another printer can violate the use agreement of some fonts.)

Be aware that a lot of "free" or cheap fonts do not always scale or kern correctly. If you use them to replace another font that is supposed to be the same, the file may not format or print correctly.

visual800

Ive noticed that also. You can find just about any font if you look hard enough. As far as using them for my purposes or copyright issues. I dont worry about the font police getting on my back

rjssigns

A lot of the free fonts create issues. I see it in the classroom all the time and warn students not to use "free" fonts. It's all fine until we start to impose the file or send it to one of the RIP's in the lab. When a project fails, more times than I care to count it's a font related issue.