• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

General Rant Concerning "schooled" Designers

myront

CorelDRAW is best
I do not hold a degree in Graphic Design. My training was from a military school back in 1995. We covered the basics and I mean "BASICS" (color theory, hand sketching, lettering technique, shading, ets.). We spent maybe two class periods on computers (Macs I believe) It wasn't until getting to my actual duty station that I was sat in front of a pc and was told to "learn it". So here I am 22yrs later retired from the military and working full time at the sign shop for 13 years now. I am self taught and I like to think I'm pretty darn good at it.

On to my rant. I was given a work request. Customer wants 500 of one decal white on clear & 300 of another, same white on clear. The only other stipulation is that the decals need to be 2"h x ?. Files provided are white transparent png's. Simple two line text. I set the proof up and send to the customer for approval. "No, sizes need to be...." and "WHY can't you use the files as given". Who is this clown!? I say to myself. Look at the name on the workorder and low and behold it's a client whom I had problems with before. This person holds a degree in Graphic Design and designed the decals themself and have been around a while, as in not fresh out of school! I took it upon myself to "vectorize" the decals for spot color use something we normally charge for. A png is not 1 color. Anyway I tried a trace but the results weren't to my liking. I managed to find the fonts used and proceeded with the layout. Still puzzled by the size request.