• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Glass permanently etched by decals?

kls

Hi I’m a professional window cleaner of over 20 years. I’ve never installed window decals/signs but I remove them from time to time and or remove the adhesive after someone else removes the signage. A typical scenario would be a retail store changing ownership and a contractor comes in to do a build out and I get hired to do the post construction window cleaning. There have been a handful of times when after the decal is removed the glass is permanently etched. For example a decal in the shape of a letter is removed and now that letter is etched into the glass. I’m wondering if the adhesives used are known to do this? Or perhaps an acid etch is ever used to prep the glass for the adhesive?
Thanks

kls

Thanks for the replies. What I am asking about is a true etching of the glass on glass without any tint. The etch is significant enough to catch a finger nail. Scratches due to razors or abrasive pads leave very unique and different signature scratches. One of the store fronts I have seen this on was built in 2008.
Just something I’ve been curious about for awhile and never been able to find an answer to.
Thanks

unclebun