• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

How do you save files in Illustrator to open in Onyx Thrive?

JERHEMI

What is your workflow save settings when you are working with gradients and pantones in Illustrator and need to open in Onyx Thrive? I'm new to Thrive and HP L360 and looking for the best save settings to print accurately. Then once you open the file in Thrive what is the best way to process the file as far as settings? I've spent the last 2 days pulling my hair out trying to get consistency between Illustrator, Thrive and the L360 and am having no luck.

Bly

Save from Illy to PDF using the Illustrator default settings.
This won't jpeg any images or change colour.

Use the same profile settings in Thrive as in illustrator.

Also to make sure the rip has the right media profiles make sure you turn off auto sync and d/l them manually each time you create one.

AF

Adding to the above, make your own PDF preset in Illustrator for exporting files. You can find tune the settings for best results in your rip. This way once you have the work flow to your liking you can simply select your preset when saving as PDF.

Andriy

I find that EPS works best as it contains more information than PDFs which do slight compression when saving/exporting.
I use ProductionHouse with the Job Editor but if Thrive is able to open EPS as well (which I believe it does) then definitely try that route.

TimToad

I find that EPS works best as it contains more information than PDFs which do slight compression when saving/exporting.
I use ProductionHouse with the Job Editor but if Thrive is able to open EPS as well (which I believe it does) then definitely try that route.