• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Install Only Pricing

abmedia

Hello all,

Long story short I owned a graphics company for about 10 years and had a Roland VersaCamm 54" for about 6 of those years. I was mostly in the racecar business, but wrapped a few trailers, vans, and cars. Sold out 3 years ago but am getting the itch again. I'm not ready for my own equipment again, and not sure I ever will be. I've contacted local companies about designing for them (I have a design degree), and mentioned I could get graphics/wraps printed and could do the installs for them. Local distributing company is asking what I would charge to just install their wraps when they order them from corporate. They have inquired about pricing to install wraps for tractor trailers, vans & draft wagons, and box trucks. They've asked if I charge by the hour or square foot.

I have NO idea how to quote an install only, as I would typically do it per job based on the job and if they are in a rush or not. What would you guys recommend in this situation?

CanuckSigns

most shops want to pay by the sq/ft, at least until they get comfortable with you and know how fast you are, that way they can accurately estimate your final fee. If you charge by the hour and tell them it will take 8 hours to do a job, and it ends up taking you 13, they aren't going to be happy about it.

I would come up with a price list similar to this:

flat surfaces (trailers, walls, windows etc) $x /sqft
vehicle wraps $xx /sqft
any equipment rental needed (lifts scaffolding etc) would be above and beyond, as would any travel time beyond x miles from your location.

Hope this helps

Billct2

The problem I have with installing other peoples graphics is what happens if something isn't right or I screw up something?