• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Layout critique

Solego

Good afternoon all

I am doing a cut vinyl job for a friend's business. I am not a graphic artist by any means, nor do I have any formal design education.

I would like some feedback, if you would be so kind, so that I may improve my skills and expand my knowledge.

Feel free to be mean and call me dirty names.

The design was done in Adobe Illustrator CC 2014 with the intent of using Oracal 751.

Thanx everyone.

trailer-side-mockup.jpg
trailer-end-mockup.jpg

Solego

Thanks for the feedback.

What color combinations would you suggest?

And what do you think about the red secondary text? I am not so sure about it. It's bright and easy to see. But, I worry it may be too bright and blur out when people try to read it from afar.

J Hill Designs

ditch the red dropshade, change the laundry list to black, keep the top copy away from the top a bit

side to side negative space isn't bad, but its crowded on the top

shoresigns

Pick up a copy of Mastering Layout: On the Art of Eye Appeal by Mike Stevens and read it at least 3 times.

If you want to make signs AND do your own layouts, you need to at least learn the basics of how to make a layout that is both appealing and effective.

Craig Sjoquist

Well I am not gonna slam ya since it is readable, more than I can say for my next door neighbors long trailers that park in front of my place, that a long time sign company did for trade, (just happen to know this) & very few of there signs look or are read well.

Think about what you are trying to say, the most important message & clients customers ...Motorcycle Safety