• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...
I don't have an installer, trainer, or tech so I am learning this new equipment all on my own. Yay!

My shop set up is: Adobe for design, Mimaki UCJV300-160 for printing, and a new Summa S3 TC160 for cutting.

I've used the Mimakis for about 4 years now and have done most of my cutting with them, but as I am growing in production, I am trying to adjust my workflow by having a separate cutter that can free up my Mimakis for more printing.

I know that I need to add registration marks to my design in Illustrator, but I have never done so before as the Mimaki RIP software does that for me. I have learned from reading other threads that Rasterlink6+ is Mimaki only and I am aware that I will be using my UCJVs for print-only for jobs that will be transferred to the Summa.

I am familiar with spot colors and cutcontours. I get the impression that with the Summa, my spot colors do not need specific names.

I have a list of file types that I can use but I am only familiar with the .prn type.

I have the GoSign Illustrator Plug-In but the included template just has named layers with no other elements to help me make my own marks.

I have my Summa installed and am able to do inclusive functions like test cuts and confidence cuts I just need a point to the next direction so that I can start doing actual jobs.

What kind of registration marks do I need to add? Like, how do they look/ function.

What file type is best? How do they function differently from each other?

Any additional advice is appreciated.

balstestrat

Problem Solver
Edit/check the GoSign "Import" function. You can see what it's looking for as "regmarks".
You can also change it to whatever you like.