• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

project pricing and materials

visual800

Out of town contractor called and he has 3 windows that need to be covered in black vinyl with white copy. The windows are 5'wide x96" tall the copy is approx 20"tall x 48" wide and located in the middle.These graphics will be up for approx 1 month and then removed. They will be placed on the outside of the glass. I do not have to remove, job was completed yesterday. It took me approx 3.5 hours for all three windows.

I have already priced and installed this job. What would you have used to do this job and what would you have charged. I like to see how people execute things differently and how they go about it.

I will post my materials and price towards the end

Tintman928

I'm kinda new to this, but let me see if I got this correct, you have 120 sq' of black vinyl, and 20 sq' worth of white lettering? If those calculations are correct, 525 to me seems way low for material, 3.5 hours of install, plus cut/weed time???
I dunno, like I said, new to signs so if I didn't calculate that right, please correct me.

visual800

this is why I posted this to see what others would have used given the information I gave you above. I was not asking if anyone thought the price was high or low. (no disrespect)

You saying that was low what kind of vinyl would you have used?

OldPaint

1st off.........i would be hesitant about covering window with all black vinyl. could get broken windows if in direct sun. 2ndly......waste of vinyl and labor, when a coat of kilz followed with a black gloss latex......woulda done the same thing. only vinyl involved wouda been the lettering.

J Hill Designs