• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

removing old vinyl from backlit panels

Brian46

Im new to projects of this sort and hoping to get some tips. The vinyl lettering at the top of the panel has to be removed and replaced. Same lettering font ect. Any tips on how to remove the old damaged vinyl would be greatly appreciated. Pic attached

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    76 KB · Views: 258

Techman

make a new panel.
Cleaning that mess is a waste of time. Plus there will be ghosts behind the letters.

reQ

Yep, its garbage. Goes to the dump. But i have a feeling that his customer wants to "save" money by reusing old panel.... make sure you explain that cleaning will cost money also so they would be better with investing in new piece of lexan.

visual800

It appears that whole panel is one. I would scrap with razor, clean with alcohol and reletter. The new design will "sorta hide" the ghosting. Judging be that lettering it will just flake off

gabagoo

Steamer works best with a plastic blade... glue remover a must!!! If there is residual ghosting you could always slap a layer of white translucent over the area you are working in.

Marlene

It appears that whole panel is one. I would scrap with razor, clean with alcohol and reletter. The new design will "sorta hide" the ghosting. Judging be that lettering it will just flake off

if they insist on reusing, just scrap it off and don't worry about hurting it. just be careful with any chemical cleaner incase it is lexan. also include the quote for a new panel along with your qutoe to re-do this. this panel has seen it's better days and shoul be tossed.

Brian46

Thanks