• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

vector colors change importing from flexi to photoshop- why?

AUTO-FX

Forgive me, i'm new at photoshop, but a long time user of flexi. When i import a vector file from flexi into photoshop, the colors change dramatically. What's the deal with this? Can i change a setting in photoshop to be color synchronis?

TIA
-Chris

AUTO-FX

ahh, good question. All i know for certain is that i apply color to the vectors from pantone library in flexi ( cmyk ). I dont see an option for specifiying color mode when exporting files. Where would i be selecting cmyk/rgb other than my color pallette?

okay, i see on the photoshop side the "rasterize eps format' window gives you an option.

Last edited:

AUTO-FX

Are files coming out of Flexi RGB regardless of what color pallette i am using in flexi?
Also, if these are basic questions with answers i should know already i apologize. I'm having trouble making the "transition" here from flexi vector to adobe raster. Perhaps some Lynda classes this weekend.

Rooster

You want to ensure your color settings are the same between PS and flexi.

I'm not sure what flexi offers in that department, but your RGB and CMYK working profiles should be the same and you should always ensure the "include input profile" box is checked when saving files so the software isn't guessing at which input profile to use when you open the file somewhere else.

I suspect your color settings are different between the two applications and it is the likely cause of your color shifts.

AUTO-FX

yes, i think you're right. thanks, i'll be looking into that when i get back to work tomorrow morning! i'll be sure to post my findings.

thewood