• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

1080, not so great?

Marien

Hey Guys,

Im a hobbyist and in no way a pro. But am I the only one who thinks 1080 is a b#tch to use?

Excess material bundles up like crazy as if it's a garbage bag. The adhesive sticks on like crazy and before you know it you've overstretched the heck out of it.

Im used to thicker vinyl, harder to form, but you know what you are dealing with. It's my first time using the 3M material but i haven't been able to wrap a single piece to my satisfaction, where as with some random thicker piece of vinyl with air release it takes time, lots of patience but in general you get a good result, only where it's going into the tinier details it's where the thicker stuff doesn't do so well.

Is hexis hx30000 or hx20000 similar in use and feel as 3m's 1080?

JoshLoring

Use Oracal 3765. You'll love it. No "wrinkle up, bundle drama". And.. If the wrap sticks to the backing paper- it comes off without ripping the paper with it.

Marien

It aint so much it sticking to the backing paper, i have no issues with that.

But as soon as you put it on the part. It's so thin, you start to even out the material and the first few wrinkles will appear, keep pulling, tried tons of ways to heat it, have the wrinkles dissapear. but then you start squeegeeing again and another wrinkle somewhere else forms.

I mean practise makes perfect but being a total noob I got okay looking covered parts with some cheap *** vinyl, but with this im failing epic at the first few strokes of the squeegee.

ps: it's a weirdly curved tailpiece for a motorcycle, so it's not just a square item or something :)

rjssigns

Wrinkles