• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

A time before Signs

showcase 66

This morning I was meeting with a client who is planning on opening an Ice cream and Frozen custard place. I really hope he actually does it. It is hard to find frozen custard in AZ. One of the first things I do when I go back to PA or NJ to visit family is to visit a Ritas and get a Gelatis.
Anyway, turns out this guy use to be a big corporate guy in NY and just decided he didnt want to do it anymore.

It got me thinking what everyone else was doing before getting into signs. I know some were brought up in the business, but most of us weren't.

I am a structural Engineer by trade with a minor in art. I worked as an engineer for 7 years before leaving and sticking with signs and graphics. Money was a lot better than signs but the stress was way to much. The day I decided to leave the engineering field, was probably the least stressful day in my life.

What did you guys do?

iSign

I left Oregon for Hawaii in 1984. I had been a tree planter, working with (one of) the largest owner operated co-op's at that time, bidding on Forest Service contracts. Fun but very very hard work. I started studying architectural drafting, which consumed the next 4 or 5 years of school & work... but then I moved to NYC and got a job at the nations largest Architectural Sign Company.. that was 20 years ago... never looked back

Fred Weiss

Merchant Member
Office coffee service business. It tended to go slow in the summer. Started out in signs by making vacuum formed magnetic sings in 1971 as a summer lark.

SignManiac