• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Aluminum Welding

Texas_Signmaker

Very Active Signmaker
How difficult is it to pick it up? I have experience soldering electronics back in my computer/tv repair days and it seems like it could be a similar, but more complex version of that.. running hotter.

Gino

Premium Subscriber
You can learn overnight. It's how good do you want to become ?? I never got any good at it, but I have a guy who is a master at it and his real job, has nothing to do with welding whatsoever. It's a sideline for him, now.

Pauly

Printrade.com.au
It depends how strong you want it to hold and how good you want it to look.

You can use a TIG Which is the most common method. Or use a MIG with a spool gun.
And it also depends what it is as aluminium needs to stay hot to weld properly. Aluminium being aluminium, a good heat sink, keeping heat in aluminium can be tricky.

It's definitely nothing like soldering, i can say that much.
Solder has a much lower melting point, so once the copper is hot enough, the solder will just melt. easy
Aluminium (and anything else you're welding) needs to be hot enough to melt, so yeah if you dont do a good job, you'll be blowing holes in it instead of welding them together.

MikePatterson

Head bathroom cleaner.
Call me if you want to ask any questions. We run Miller equipment , both spool gun and TIG.

It will take to long to type out the pros and cons of both.

rjssigns

TIG has a steeper learning curve, is slower, has more heat input and larger heat affected zone, but welds are cleaner and look much better. You will also be able to weld other ferrous and nonferrous metals.
Silicon bronze on sheetmetal works a treat.