• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Am I just getting to old for this?

Jeff

I have been lettering race cars for over 25 years for this "team". Back in the day when we were "young" we did some nice "clean" paint-lettering-stripping jobs on the cars. Of recent (we're older now) it's hang a one color body (mostly black ones) on it and here you go. I have continued to give them clean, legible, what I think, nice looking cars. (that fits the taste of the teams dad and myself) The now 18 year old team driver "the son" has a more "modern" taste.

Cars from earlier this year that I did... Nason cars for NSS jpeg.jpg Jeff's LF side.jpg Jeff's RT side.jpg

This wrap was produced using some of my art files, but I had nothing to do with the design. From a design standpoint I think I could pick this apart left & right. There are just so many wrong elements.
wrapped LF side.jpg wrapped RT side.jpg wrapped back.jpg wrapped front.jpg

A comment was made that it looks fast just sitting there...is that a good thing? From any kind of distance I think this will be illegible. It will be racing at the Milwaukee Mile this weekend. I realize that most of the time the sponsors names are not readable from the stands but the numbers should be...at least on the front stretch.

This post is not out of bitterness toward the wrapping of race cars (which I am not interested in doing) but the over all design and lack of legibility.

So again I ask you, am I getting to old for this business? Does this lettering/graphics appeal to you? Are you young..say 25 or less? middle...say 26-49 or old (like me) 50+? (not that I'm saying 50 is old, I'm merely thinking in terms of taste in lettering styles)