• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Another new member!

kbarker

Greetings other members!

I am definately a newbie to the sign industry; however, with a background in accounting, I am not a newbie when it comes to business plans, business models, or bookkeeping systems like Quickbooks or Peachtree. Also, I was self-employed for 10 years in the carpet cleaning business, so I really have a great deal of personal experiences in the ups and downs (mostly down) of being self-employed. So, if anyone has any questions about these particular subjects I would be happy to address them.

I'm joining this forum because I really want to "get into the sign making business", particularly magnetic car signs, yard signs, sidewalk signs, and banners. I already have what I think is a solid plan for generating business. My only problem right now is buying the right equipment for producing the aforementioned products with a cost/benefit approach ( I really don't want to spend $10,000 just to make little signs/nor do I want to spend as little as $1,000 just to make a crappy looking little sign). I've been searching the internet for some answers, but the wide range of products and prices have pretty much done me in, as I'm sure any newbie can attest to. So, with this in mind, I'm joining this forum with the hopes that an experienced sign maker can point me in the right direction.

That's my story,

Kelley

Mosh

Welcome. Why not design the signs and sub out the printing until you have the $25K you will need for the bare bones amount of equipment. $10k won't get you much.

Mikeifg