• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Any tips on laying down 48" transfer tape?

ryandavis03

Hello all,

I'm not that experienced in the plotter cut graphics world. I recently purchased a brand new Graphtec FC8600-130. I'm doing backlit signs so I'm using 48" 3M 3630.

Anyhow, after I weed the graphics I need to apply transfer tape of course.

So, my question would be, I have a 48" roll of r.tape that I sat for an hour after delivery today trying to figure out how 1 person is supposed to apply this tape? 30" seems like the max width I can handle alone.

Any tips? I'm doing 3 colors so running it through some sort of roll laminator isn't an option since they need to be taped and aligned on the table. To transfer them all into 1 layer.

Or any tools? I tried it on a sample sheet of vinyl and it was way too wide for me to handle. Crinkle up and fell onto the material. Would of been a nightmare if it were an actual job laying on the table.

Many thanks!

-Ryan

2B

We have one of these on one of our tables. It's still easier to do with two people, but can be done with one person if need be.
http://www.speedpress.com/products/2/20

we have a homemade version of this on our table.

for the wider application tape, we found a single person can to it easy enough with a small diameter rod (we use electrical conduit pipe) roll the tape around a couple of times to ensure it doesn't slip off and you are good to go

MainostePrint

we use our laminator almost for every application tape install. only very small cut jobs we lay by hand. We have 2 laminators, and the other we use mainly for the application tape.

briansipsy