• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Any training classes offered???

portersprints

I was wondering how each of you got started in the sign industry. Are you self taught? Did you take classes? Were you trained on the job?

The sign industry is so vast and there are so many techniques.
I am looking for a training class(es) that will show me the right way to do things and what kind of products I can offer to my customers.

I have been doing decals and banners in conjunction to my screen printing business (the main thing my company does) for about 2 years. We do a lot of banners and small car decals, but I want to do more!

I want to know how an where to get supplies to make light cabinet signs. The best techniques to use when applying big portions of full-color/full bleed vinyl to 4x8 sheets of aluminum.

I want to dabble and get some experience with vehicle wraps.

What sells well in your area?

We bought a Roland versa cam about 5 months ago that we use for a lot of full-color banners (a big seller around here) and 6" decals. However, I don't think we are using for everything it can do due to inexperience and not knowing of certain products.

Any help??

Thanks

genericname

Smart of you to diversify, or at least entertain the thought of becoming a full-service shop. Most here are either self-taught, or got their start working in someone else's shop. The most common advice you'll find is to apprentice in someone else's shop first, but seeing as you already have an established business, your best bet is probably just to surround yourself with people who know what their doing.