• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Aqua from Ocean Isle Beach North Carolina

Aqua

Hello, I am new to the Forum and not sure yet how it works. My question is : anyone having some bad issues with the Ronan paints these recent years? Since they came out with the new logo? I have experienced more that one issues, the worst being the problem of the paint not developing a skin but simply turning into a thick pasty chewing gum like mass. I have been using Ronan paints for almost 30 years , and until just recently I never had any problems. The gallon sizes are the worst. I contacted Ronan and they claim I am the only person who has these complains. Please share your thoughts and experiences. Thank you!

Boudica

I'm here for Educational Purposes
Welcome to the forum!
I don't deal with paints, but there are others who do and know a lot about paint.

Aqua

How do you apply it ??
I take the gallon can, pour some into a small 8 or 12 oz can, add a bit of thinner when needed and I use brushes. I paint sandblasted or carved signs with the paint. Have been using Ronan for the past 30 years and had no problem until just recently. Paint will not skin over in the little can, instead it starts thickening up and gradually turns into a paste. If you keep adding thinner the shine will be gone.

Aqua

Other than thinner, what other additives do you use ??
I never needed any before but I just purchased some high temp reducer and flow enhancer, it might help. Never needed anything else before besides thinner, sometimes use linseed oil for blending

Gino

Premium Subscriber
Not sure why you're using bulletin for lettering ?? Bulletins are pigmented higher for better hiding, but less flow. However, they dry faster which doesn't allow much time for flowing out, either.