• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Asphalt Art Foil, Anyone Have Experience With It?

AMGearhart

I just got an order and some materials from my supervisor to do some graphics to go on asphalt. The material brand we got is Asphalt Art. Has anyone ever worked with this material? Fortunately, the design is simple. It doesn't seem like the kind of thing my plotter would do well cutting, and I don't want to tear up my blade to find out. So for such a simple design, I am happy to hand cut it. I'm going to use our laser to create a styrene template for install. So in a nutshell, I guess I want to know:

How well does it take ink?
Can it be cut on a regular plotter?
Anything tips or suggestions regarding printing or installing?

It is my first time working with this material and my supervisor knows as little about it as I do.

Thanks!

flyplainsdrifta

What do you plan on printing it on? Ive been running it on and off for years. It is a semi risky material to run on certain printers. I prefer to run it on my latex's mostly because of the cheap heads that if i do get a gnarly headstrike, i am back up and running without waiting for a tech. I learned the hard way when i was first starting in this business not to run it on my uv flatbed. the foil doesnt like to lay flat off the roll unless you have it on a take up with a fair amount of tension. can take out some heads if your not careful, turning a quick small job into a 5000 dollar nightmare.

Takes ink very well on my latex's with a lower temp vinyl profile.

I highly doubt a plotter would be able to handle that, although i am not sure at all there (we've always used a zund).

bannertime

I have only used Alumigraphics, but from samples, they are pretty similar.