• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Backlit washout issues

CaBOoSE

Hey everyone,

I am a newbie to this site and the print scene in general, and recently we have been running into the issue of our translucent prints being washed out when backlit.

We have started running a rich clear print behind, with a normal preset translucent laid on top, but we were assured when the printer was purchased that the latex would not need the double layer of vinyl for backlit applications..... Its no real huge deal, just I would like to save some time and material and not need to take the extra steps really... call it lazy, I call it casually efficient... LOL

I am using mainly avery products, MPI 2050 for translucent, 1005easy RS for opaque, and MPI 1060 for regular clear prints, and 2060 for the double layer print, since it is advised to not laminate calendared over cast. The settings for the printer in onyx are adjusted straight from the onyx website, just for heat purposes, and other than the wash out issue, are perfect for my needs. If any pros have any tips they are willing to share, lets face it, I'm all ears.....

-Andrew

Fastsigns2041

Fastsigns Palm Harbor
I use 2 methods. In onyx preflight, I bump up the saturation 2 clicks in the color correction tab. OR check the high ink option in the printer settings if you right click the file in the rip queue. and I go with 20 pass just to be sure it dries.

Both methods work for me depending on the type of print, say if its a solid color background or a photo. you'll have to experiment which might work best for your media. I use tru-stock translucent.

signswi

I would clone the HP backlit profile and adjust the heat according to manufacturer. It uses High Ink if I recall.

sfr table hockey