• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Banding issues on VJ-1604

desiree

Newbie here.
I am having banding issues with my VJ 1604. We first did a media feed adjustment and it still seemed to be sloppy. So we have replaced the encoder wheel, and media feed motor and belt.
We have to run it in Profile IJ180-10 super fine mode for a quality print. Which can take all day to run a job not efficient in this business. I know this printer can print like butter.
Does anyone have any ideas on?

:banghead:

MachServTech

take a camera pic of the type of banding. I have a lot of problems with banding on the 1604 because of too much ink on the media. What kind of RIP are you using and have you performed all of the internal Mutoh media calibrations.

randya

Newbie here.
I am having banding issues with my VJ 1604. We first did a media feed adjustment and it still seemed to be sloppy. So we have replaced the encoder wheel, and media feed motor and belt.
We have to run it in Profile IJ180-10 super fine mode for a quality print. Which can take all day to run a job not efficient in this business. I know this printer can print like butter.
Does anyone have any ideas on?

:banghead:

If you are having to run in superfine, that says too much ink too fast = profile.

What RIP and version are you running?

desiree

charging battery now in camera. We are using Onyx 7-2. yes do nozzle check and clean every morning. this has been going on for more than 6 months.
I will check to see if we have done all internal Mutoh calibrations.
We have changed multiple profiles.

Last edited:

desiree

photo of banding

IMG_0949.jpg

desiree

Thanks to all that are helping me tackle this.
the material is 3m cv3. Plus this does it on all materials.

Bigdawg

Just Me