• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Basic Sign Making question?

Tagdog

I am new to the digital world. I have a Summa DC 4. I will probably buy an inkjet at the end of the year, which I will seek some advice and input. I have done my on door magnets and a full color banner( I had to print on vinyl and stick it on to the banner material as the summa is not great for this, hence the reason for an inkjet.)
Anyway to the basic stupid question.
If I make a sign and use Diabond or Allumacore ( have not seen it yet or sure I'm spelling right) and print it out in full color on one large piece of vinyl, what do I do with the edges?
Doe I cut and leave a couple inches all the way around and wrap the vinyl to the back side? What if its a two sided sign do I do the same thing and just not worry about the little ridge I would have to cover. I guess if the sign is in a frame I would not have to worry about this.
Like I said I am very new to this. The first vinyl I tried to stick on without any soapy water on my substrate. It was horrible. I tried soapy water and it worked great. I have been screen printing and came into the digital by need of making stickers.
Our company is called Signs Up which is really a gift item wholesale company www.signs-up.com I kept getting calls local for making signs. We have always told them that we did not do that. Well now I am going to get into it.
I am a fast learner. Any help or input would be appreciated.
Signs Up

Billct2

First...NO SOAPY WATER.
If you must do wet applications use a commercial product.
You can do a search for the many threads on wet vs dry application.