• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Best print quality printer

Boyanski

Hi,
yesterday was on a show / C!Print Madrid, Spain/ looking for a printer and to compare and view some in real life.

I have read a lot on forums and have experience with Canon and HP large photo printers. And apart from signmaker i am a professional photographer.

I have a small sign shop, cnc machines and stuff.

I wanted to see the HP latex in action. I wanted to see the Chinese printers. I wanted to see the Chinese UV printers.

So here are my thoughts:

The latest Roland TrueVIS VG-640 printer was the best quality wise and impact wise printer on the show. By a mile. Yep, better than the Epson solvent printers. And i confirmed this by asking people with no photographic experience at all, or any printing experience.

Second on quality were the Epson and the Mutoh, i would say the Mutoh was a tad better. It could be used as a true printer for sign making and photography at the same time. I am Impressed by all Mutoh printers quality print even i have read on forums people think they are lower level than the Rolands and the Mimaki

The cheap Chinese printer was printing very good and very impacting colors, using super cheap ink. 3rd place after the Mutoh and the Epson. I am impressed here again.

The Mimaki did not impress me at all, except their super large 3m printer.

The Chinese UV printers. The large format ones. Ink was not perfectly, no, no...

The Chinese UV printers 8 colors A3+ and similar. Oh, yeah. They have now transparent lacquer and prints were same as the Mimaki at half the price

The HP latex. Meh. I have mixed feelings about this one. I was going to pull the trigger for a second hand HP260 as i am a one man shop mostly, so the lamination talk and stuff.