• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Bubbles in 1shot paint

ElizabethJulia

Hey all,
I'm really new to working with 1shot enamel paint, and I'm running into 1 problem consistently. When I paint any larger area I'm getting tiny little bubbles and imperfections in the paint. It's driving me absolutely crazy because otherwise the surface is so beautiful. Now I'm not using sign painter's brushes specifically but they are brushes designed for oil based paint. I can't imagine that's the variable at play, but I also can't figure out what I'm doing wrong. The surfaces are clean and prepped. This even happens when I try painting a second coat. I am pretty desperate, so I would appreciate any information on what I might be doing wrong. Thanks!!!

GVP

What are you thinning it with? Are the brushes dry before use? When you say cleaned and prepped - what are you doing?

SignosaurusRex

Assuming that your substrate is well and properly prepped.....

1). Invest in some top quality "Lettering Quills" and "Flats". They make all the difference in the world.

2). Make sure your brushes are very well cleaned and dry every time before you use them with your 1-Shot enamel. Any residual brush preservatives or oils left in the brush will contaminate your paint and final finish. Using your desired paint reducer / thinner as a final cleaner before wetting the brush with paint is helpful.

3). Reduce / Thin your 1-Shot with Turpentine rather than regular paint thinner. I find that 1-Shot reducer will also leaves bubbles.
Note: Low Odor and the other "enviro-friendly" thinners are crap and more problems.