• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Need Help Bubbles

Lylie

Hi all,

I'm quite new to this so please bare with me...

I've got a Roland XC-540 and I'm just playing at the minute, I've got some self-adhsesive vinyl along with some clear & paper application tape; I've put some prints on to application tape, but when peeling back, they have bubbles, obviously when I've put the application tape over the vinyl i've used my squeegee etc but I'm unsure if someone can point me in the right direction of where I'm going wrong, any help would be hugely appreciated

Many thanks

Attachments

• WhatsApp Image 2019-09-04 at 12.24.32 (1).jpeg
    WhatsApp Image 2019-09-04 at 12.24.32 (1).jpeg
    107 KB · Views: 332
  • WhatsApp Image 2019-09-04 at 12.24.32.jpeg
    WhatsApp Image 2019-09-04 at 12.24.32.jpeg
    72.2 KB · Views: 283

Lylie

Did you put this down using the wet method or dry ??
I'm sorry to sound so dense, but wet method? I peeled it back, stuck it down and squeegee'd it onto the vehicle - so I would say dry?

Could you elaborate on the steps you would use please? Sorry I feel a right turnip!

rjssigns

When applying dry you need to take your time. For small pieces with transfer tape get a small bit of vinyl tacked in place and remove backing. Then while holding the vinyl slightly off the surface squeegee 4 or 5mm at a time and overlap squeegee strokes. A new squeegee with a sharp edge goes a long way in preventing bubbles.

Wet method: Buy some Rapid Tac and follow the tutorials on their site.

Gino

Premium Subscriber