• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Choosing colors that look good together

Jean Shimp

I'm designing a sign for a day care business. The building is a barnyard red color. They want "kid friendly" colors on the sign as well as the barnyard (burnt) red. I'm not good at choosing colors. I know there is a science to working with colors. I'm looking for a program where I can pick a color and up pops different options for complimentary color combinations. I've looked at a couple of programs a few years ago that were built for this reason but they were not user friendly. I have Corel Draw and have not have much luck with their color choices - or maybe I just don't know how to use the software correctly. Any suggestions? TIA

Bradley Signs

Bradley Signs
Try this... Google Daycare Center Signs, or something similar, then click images and see what others are doing.... pastels and happy colors always work.
lighter blues, yellows, reds, pastel greens and black for accent....tan....

nikdoobs

I'm designing a sign for a day care business. The building is a barnyard red color. They want "kid friendly" colors on the sign as well as the barnyard (burnt) red. I'm not good at choosing colors. I know there is a science to working with colors. I'm looking for a program where I can pick a color and up pops different options for complimentary color combinations. I've looked at a couple of programs a few years ago that were built for this reason but they were not user friendly. I have Corel Draw and have not have much luck with their color choices - or maybe I just don't know how to use the software correctly. Any suggestions? TIA
I stumbled upon this site the other day. Only used it once, but I like how it works. https://coolors.co/

Bobby H

Arial Sucks.