Welcome To Signs101.com: Largest Forum for Signmaking Professionals

Signs101.com: Largest Forum for Signmaking Professionals is the LARGEST online community & discussion forum for professional sign-makers and graphic designers.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Choosing colors that look good together

Discussion in 'General Signmaking Topics' started by Jean Shimp, Jul 21, 2020.

1. Jean Shimp

Jean Shimp Member

Oct 26, 2012
    jacksonville, fl
    I'm designing a sign for a day care business. The building is a barnyard red color. They want "kid friendly" colors on the sign as well as the barnyard (burnt) red. I'm not good at choosing colors. I know there is a science to working with colors. I'm looking for a program where I can pick a color and up pops different options for complimentary color combinations. I've looked at a couple of programs a few years ago that were built for this reason but they were not user friendly. I have Corel Draw and have not have much luck with their color choices - or maybe I just don't know how to use the software correctly. Any suggestions? TIA

Tags:
  2. Pauly

Pauly Colour Guru

Feb 14, 2016
    Melbourne
    • Like Like x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  3. Dan360

Dan360 Member

Dec 23, 2014
    Ontario, Canada
    • Like Like x 2
    • OMG / Wow! OMG / Wow! x 1
  4. The Yanki & The Brit

The Yanki & The Brit The Yanki & The Brit Signs and Radio Show

Sep 3, 2014
    Texas
    Try this... Google Daycare Center Signs, or something similar, then click images and see what others are doing.... pastels and happy colors always work.
    lighter blues, yellows, reds, pastel greens and black for accent....tan....

• Agree Agree x 1
  5. nikdoobs

nikdoobs Active Member

Jun 4, 2013
    lafayette, la
    I stumbled upon this site the other day. Only used it once, but I like how it works. https://coolors.co/

6. Bobby H

Bobby H Very Active Member