• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

CJV30 100, single pass

Chris.ardmel

Hello there!

I'd like to take the time to introduce myself before I present this wall of text! I'm Chris from the United Kingdom and would be greatly appreciative if someone could help me with the following.

Since I'm a novice to the printing scene, please excuse me if I wrongly term something!

We have CJV30 100 (8 ink channels) setup at our work place and have it printing away with no problems. However, as we are printing onto a polyurethane material (around 80 microns), the amount of ink placed onto it is something we'd like to control.

Printing on pass 2 causes the material to curl at the sides if it's a heavily coloured image we are printing, while this isn't a problem for simple patterns(I.e. white squares with a black outline), the more complex ones are too heavily layered to for the material to support it, hence the curling of the media.

I have noticed that when a printing job has started, the first pass is crystal clear and no curling occurs, however after this first pass the rest of the job is printed really heavily and begins to blur.

We are currently using RasterlInk 5 sg and, as far as I'm aware, we have no profiles which support 1 pass. It's good to note that in my ProfileManager, which came with RasterlInk 5 sg , the CJV30 doesn't have any pass 1 profiles either. The only model that supports pass 1 is the JV33, which from what I understand, is just a CJV30 minus the cutter.

Is it possible to print in pass 1 with the CJV30, if so how could I go about it?

Any and all answers would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks and kind regards,
Chris.

ironchef